ABYC Announces New Board and Award Winners

The American Boat & Yacht Council (ABYC) welcomed new board members and celebrated award recipients at its annual meeting and cocktail reception in New Orleans, Louisiana. The event acts as the official opening for ABYC Standards Week, where experts from all fields of the marine industry review and update safety standards pertaining to the design, construction, and repair of recreational boats.

ABYC Board Chair Nancy Cueroni joined ABYC president John Adey to update members on ABYC initiatives, and to announce new board members and award recipients.

During the business portion of the meeting, ABYC announced the election of the 2023 Board of Directors officers and Directors-at-Large. Jeff Wasil, from the National Marine Manufacturers Association (NMMA), will replace Nancy Cueroni as board chair. New board members are William Daley, former president of CED Technologies, and Kate Holden, marketing and communications director of the International Boatbuilders’ Exhibition and Conference (IBEX). Sean Hatherley of Navico Group will serve the remainder of David Johnson’s term.

The meeting concluded with ABYC’s annual award ceremony.  Andy Adams, managing editor of Canadian Yachting magazine and Boating Industry Canada, received the ABYC Horizon Award for conspicuous contributions to the future success and growth of ABYC and the recreational marine industry. Colleen Moore, an ABYC Master Technician working with Diversified Marine received the Bolling Fortson Douglas Memorial Award as a female ABYC member who best exemplifies dedication to the marine industry with the advancement of safety, education, and standards.

Sign up for the Marina Dock Age newsletter.Our newsletter delivers the latest news straight to your inbox including breaking news, our exclusive content covering the marina and boatyard industry, new products, and much more.