MIASF Holds Virtual Meeting And Election

The Marine Industries Association of South Florida (MIASF) held its annual meeting virtually on June 24 using the Zoom platform. Both live and videotaped portions of the event were emceed by former Denver Broncos running back, broadcaster and author Reggie Rivers. The association’s first virtual annual meeting was followed by an online after party with live music and open chat room.

Doug West, president of Lauderdale Marine Center and chairman of the MIASF Board of Directors, announced the newly and re-elected board members: Julie Berry of Marina Investments Group Stiles Realty; Tyler Chappell of the Chappell Group; Michael Kelly of Bradford Marine; and Glenn Allen of Fleet Miami. Returning directors include: Dean DuToit of National Marine Suppliers; Andrew Doole of Informa Markets U.S. Boat Shows; vice chairman Jimmie Harrison of Frank & Jimmie’s Propeller; secretary/treasurer James Brewer of Derecktor Shipyards; and immediate past chairman Jim Naugle of Lauderdale Boatyard.

Award winners were also announced through video and live recognition and included Award of Excellence Winners Bob Crawford, director of Atlantic Technical College, and Bill Walker, president of Water Taxi. Advocacy awards were presented to U.S. Sen. Marco Rubio, U.S. Rep Ted Deutch, Fort Lauderdale City Commissioner Ben Sorensen and U.S. Coast Guard Captain of the Port Jo-Ann Burdian.

The Golden Anchor Award, which recognizes a lifetime achievement for work in the marine industry, was presented to MIASF industry liaison Patience Cohn for her many years of selfless service and passion for the industry.

A keynote speech was delivered by Patrick Lahey, president of Triton Submarines, from Sebastian, Fla. Triton builds ultra-sophisticated submersibles for high profile ocean explorers.