SOBA Presents Annual Awards

The States Organization for Boating Access (SOBA) presented its 2018 Awards Program at the 32nd Annual Boating Access Conference in Duluth, Minnesota, on September 26. These awards recognize projects, individuals and organizations that have done an exemplary job in providing safe and well-designed public access to the waters of our nation. The 2018 recipients are as follows:

  • Outstanding Project Awards: Historic Bristol Borough, Waterfront Transient Docks; City of Avalon, Boating Infrastructure Projects; Wisconsin DNR and SEH Engineers, Okauchee Boat Access Site; North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission, Shell Rock Landing. 
  • State Program Excellence Award: State Clean Vessel Act, Georgia Department of Natural Resources, Coastal Division.
  • 2018 President’s Award: North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission and Duke Energy, Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin Improvements won this annual award for their continued longstanding partnerships that have enhanced recreational and boating experiences through a shared vision.
  • Special Recognition Award: American Boat & Yacht Council’s Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS) Product Technical Committee won for their leadership in boating access for publishing a technical report to minimize the spread of AIS.
  • Outstanding Service Award: Jim Richardson, Lower Colorado River Authority won for his leadership in boating access programs, boating facilities design and his commitment to boater education, water safety and the boating communities of Texas.
  • William H. Ivers Award: Larry Killien, Minnesota Dept. of Natural Resources was presented this honorable award for his significant contributions over the last 34 years to recreational boating, boating access, design, construction, management and administration of boating access facilities and programs.