USCG Appoints Two to National Boating Safety Advisory Committee

The U. S. Coast Guard has announced the appointment of two individuals to serve as new members of the National Boating Safety Advisory Committee (NBSAC). The new members are Robert Newsome, senior vice president of operations at the National Marine Manufacturers Association and Ty Hunter, program director for the State of Utah Division of Recreation Boating.

The NBSAC was established on December 4, 2018. The Committee operates under the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act (5 U.S.C. Appendix) and 46 U.S.C. § 15109.  The function of the Committee is to provide advice and recommendations to the Secretary of Homeland Security through the Commandant of the United States Coast Guard and the Assistant Commandant for Prevention Policy on matters relating to national boating safety.

The NBSAC’s charter requires that it be composed of 21 members who are appointed by and who serve at the pleasure of the Secretary of Homeland Security.  Each member selected has particular expertise, knowledge, and experience regarding recreational boating safety.  Following procedures in 46 U.S.C. § 15109, the Secretary of Homeland Security will appoint persons to the following membership:

  • seven members shall represent State officials responsible for State boating safety programs;
  • seven members shall represent recreational vessel and associated equipment manufacturers; and
  • seven members shall represent the general public or national recreational boating organizations and, of the seven, at least five shall represent national recreational boating organizations.

Each member holds office for a term up to three years.

Sign up for the Marina Dock Age newsletter.Our newsletter delivers the latest news straight to your inbox including breaking news, our exclusive content covering the marina and boatyard industry, new products, and much more.

For more information about NBSAC, visit   Pages – Missions Content (