2018 Innovation Award Winners Announced

Boating Writers International (BWI) awarded 13 winners the 2018 International BoatBuilders’ Exhibition & Conference (IBEX) Innovation Awards.

This year’s awardees are:

  • Boat Care and Maintenance: AWLGRIP North America, Quick Build
  • Boatbuilding Methods & Materials: Structural Composites Inc., Advanced Marine Coatings
    • Honorable Mention: Dowco Marine, Nextoon
  • Covering: Taylor Made, Pole-less Self-Draining Pontoon Cover
    • Honorable Mention: Quality Mark, Pop-A-Pole
  • Deck Equipment and Hardware: Dripper Guard, Dripper Guard PRO
  • Electrical Systems: Balmar, SG200 Battery Monitor
  • Entertainment: FUSION Entertainment USA Inc., Apollo 770
  • Furnishings and Interior Parts: SHOXS, X Series Shock Mitigated Pedestals
  • Lighting: Megaleds Ind, ORPHOS
  • Mechanical Systems: Blue Guard Innovations, BG-One
  • OEM Electronics: Raymarine Inc., Axiom ClearCruise Augmented Reality
    • Honorable Mention: Suzuki Motor of America Inc., Multi-Function Gauge
  • Outboard Engines: Yamaha Motor Corporation, V8 XTO Offshore
  • Propulsion Parts, Propellers: Mercury Marine, Tiller Handle Assembly for Portable Outboard Motor
  • Safety Equipment: Medallion Instrumentation Systems, Docking/Trailer Camera

Awards were presented during the IBEX annual industry breakfast, which also featured a keynote by Rich Karlgaar, publisher of Forbes and Thom Dammrich, president of the National Marine Manufacturers Association (NMMA). NMMA manages the Innovation Awards while BWI judges the entries.