AIWA Elects New Board

The Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway Association (AIWA) has elected its new Board for 2022. The new chair is David Dickerson of National Marine Manufacturers Association, vice chair is Devon Carlock, Cottrell Contracting Corporation, treasurer is Michael Gerhardt, Cashman Dredging and Marine Contracting, and secretary is Jerry Scarborough of Taylor Engineering, Inc.

The executive team is joined by the board:
Dennis Barbour, North Carolina Beach Inlet & Waterway Association
Paul Barger, Colonial Group, Inc.
Mark Crosley, Florida Inland Navigation District
Melissa Danko, Marine Trades Association of New Jersey
Mark Epley, McDonough Marine Services
Vance Hull, Colonna’s Shipyard, Inc.
Richard Jaques, Jr., Cross State Towing
David Kennedy, BoatU.S.
Bos Smith, Stevens Towing Company
John Vannoy, Orion Marine Group

In the first quarter of 2022, the AIWA will be active tracking federal funding opportunities and advocating for waterway funding. In mid-January, the U.S. Corps of Engineers will release their work plan identifying projects that will receive funding through the $1.2 trillion Bipartisan Infrastructure Act. In early February, the President is scheduled to release his FY23 budget kicking off the appropriations process for funds that could be available in late 2022. By mid-February, Congress will need to decide how they will be addressing the FY22 Appropriations Bills before the current Continuing Resolution expires. In total, the Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway could be looking at an influx of millions of additional dollars for Operations & Maintenance. The association will continue to monitor and lobby for funding.

Sign up for the Marina Dock Age newsletter.Our newsletter delivers the latest news straight to your inbox including breaking news, our exclusive content covering the marina and boatyard industry, new products, and much more.